Who is the Senate President of Nigeria

In Government, there are three arms;

  • The Legislative arm
  • The Judicial arm, and;
  • The Executive arm.

The functions of the government are divided amongst these arms. That is to say, they have their roles in the functioning of the government.

All these arms have those who head them. It will be informative to know these heads because they are changed from time to time. Unfortunately, we won’t be discussing the heads of other’s arms except for the Legislative arm of government.

Before we go straight into that, what is the main function of the Legislative arm? The Legislative arm of government is responsible for making laws. This is its main function, and a good government cannot exist without this body.

Nigeria practices the bicameral legislature system, meaning the National Assembly is made up of two houses. Under the Legislative arm of government in Nigeria, we have the National Assembly, consisting of two houses;

  • The Senate House
  • The House of Representatives

The Senate House is regarded as the upper house, while the House of Representatives is regarded as the lower house. In the next section, I will be discussing thoroughly the Nigerian Senate.

The Nigerian Senate

Just as I said earlier, the Nigerian Senate is the upper chamber of the bicameral legislature of Nigeria, the National Assembly. Therefore, this body has an upper hand when it comes to lawmaking in the country.

There are 109 seats in the Senate House of Nigeria. 69 seats are occupied by the majority, which is the All Progressive Congress (APC), while 39 seats are occupied by the minority, the People’s Democratic Party. The 1 seat left is occupied by the Young Progressives Party (YPP).

The majority leader is Yahaya Abubakar Abdullahi, while the minority leader is Enyinnaya Abaribe. Just like the executive arm of government, an election is conducted every four years to change the leaders and president.

Who is the Senate President of Nigeria?

If you are reading this, you want to know who the Nigerian Senate President is, and you will get an answer. Recall that I mentioned that election is conducted in the Senate House every four years, so the president is changed almost every time.

The current Senate President of Nigeria is Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan, APC. He was elected as the president on June 11, 2019. His deputy is Ovie Omo-Agege who belongs to the same party as him.

The President of the Senate House is regarded as the presiding officer of the Senate, meaning he/she oversees the Senate. The chief function of the Senate President is to guide and regulate the proceedings of the Senate. In addition, The Senate President is third in the Nigerian presidential line of succession after the Executive president and the head of the judiciary.

The Senate President and his Deputy are also assisted by principal officers including the Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Chief Whip, Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Whip, and Deputy Minority Whip. In addition, there are 63 Standing Committees in the Senate chaired by Committee Chairmen.

Leave a Comment